top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureArtistsCan

Craig Stephens

‘Artists can simplify things in a way that show a greater truth.' 

Craig Stephens is an artist working from a purpose built studio in the former Goldrush area of Auburn, California. A former high school teacher, he is a full-time painter, often committed to producing a painting per day using everyday found objects as inspiration (follow along and you will glimpse an occasional self-portrait!).


Where is your current studio? What would be your dream studio?

My studio is on my property. We have two acres in Auburn, CA. There were a number of crumbling outbuildings on the property when we moved there. I tore one of the old sheds down and rebuilt it into my studio. It’s the first time I’ve ever worked in a space that was specifically designed and created for painting. It is my dream studio.  Do you prefer to work in silence or does certain music inspire you?

I can work in silence and it doesn’t bother me but I do enjoy listening to music or sometimes podcasts while I work. I wouldn’t say the music inspires me but it is enjoyable to listen to it from time to time.  Studio life can lead to isolation, how do you address this/ keep a balance?

I have an amazing family who are pretty much the center of my life. It seems like I’m with them all the time and I love it. When I do make it out to the studio to work for an hour or two it’s a nice break but it usually doesn’t last long. My kids visit me in the studio all the time. 

'Reflective ball'

Describe a moment you had an epiphany concerning your creative life.

A couple of years ago I realized I didn’t need to keep teaching. I had been teaching for 23 years but the school that I had started at and loved working at had been closed down. I was given a less than ideal teaching assignment which I managed to show up to for a couple of years but I was pretty unhappy. After discussing it with my wife we realized that I could retire early and paint more. It’s been the best decision I’ve made in a long time.  What is your favourite/ least favourite part of the creative process?

I don’t have a least favorite part. It’s all wonderful and satisfying. I’d say my favorite part is making the last major adjustments toward the end of a painting. It’s the time when things really start to make a difference. I’m not talking about adding final, tiny details. The part just before that, where a painting is coming together and starting to turn into the thing that your painting. It’s kind of magical.  Do you have a personal mantra or quote which serves to motivate you?

Not really. I’m fascinated by the process of translating little slices of the world into paint. That fascination and the ideas and questions  that the process generates are what keep me motivated.  How has your style evolved and what contributed to the changes? The way I paint seems to me to evolve very slowly. I like to take my time exploring different ideas. I think that the access we enjoy to literally millions of images through the internet has influenced how I look at things. A lot of artists that I admire have pushed their work toward abstraction in some very interesting ways and that has inspired me to experiment along those lines. Although recently I can see myself pulling back from that a bit. Lately I’ve been trying to simplify things and approach my subject in as straightforward a way as I can. 

'Apatosaurus'

Describe an obstacle you have faced and how did you overcome it.

Sometimes my motivation flags a little. I suppose his happens to a lot of artists  When my motivation is low I have found that routine is what saves me. I head out to the studio even when I’m not particularly in the mood. I’ll grab the first thing that seems interesting and I just start painting. I’ve found that before long something about the process has captured my attention and I’m back into it. I might not end up with a masterpiece (I rarely do) but I usually manage to find something engaging.  Nature versus nurture- do you believe you have inherited abilities from creative parents, do you have creative siblings? Can you identify environmental factors or influences which led to your choices or directions?

I don’t really believe in inherited abilities. I think we can be predisposed to enjoy certain activities and that enjoyment usually leads to greater engagement and practice in those areas. That engagement and practice will sometimes lead to some facility. My parents were very encouraging to me and my sister and they gave us the tools and opportunity to pursue the activities that we were drawn to. I can remember visiting museums and galleries at a young age and we always had lots of art books laying around. In addition to all this high culture we had in our lives I was also an ardent comic book reader and I began copying drawings of my favorite characters at a pretty young age. Comic books were my gateway to drawing and I still love them.  Is there something you regard as essential to your preparation or process?

The desire to work is the most essential element.  Detail a moment which was the highlight for you, thus far.

I can’t. When a painting hits close to the mark is always satisfying but I don’t really remember specifics. I’m looking ahead and trying to get a little closer to how I want to be painting each time I get to the studio. 

'Yellow Chuck Taylor'

If you could time travel, what advice would you give the younger you, regarding pursuing your artmaking?

Start sooner and stick with it. Young people have a lot of distractions that don’t really add much value to life. I would have liked to avoid some of those and really zero in on painting at a much earlier age. There are so many painters who are half my age and are already incredibly skilled. It would have been nice to have the discipline to do that at an earlier age.  How does your work respond to social trends?

It doesn’t.  What do you hope to convey through your work?

That’s a good question. I mostly just paint. I try as best I can to distil a subject down to its essentials. When I manage to do this successfully I think it creates something that’s Iconic and universal that can resonate with people. I think good paintings do that. They make you notice something about the world that you maybe didn’t pay attention to before. 


Follow Craig!

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page