top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureArtistsCan

Daire Lynch

‘Artists can affect the emotions and lives of many. We can causes reactions within people, fire memories both good and bad, we can add to peoples lives, give them an escape or give them hope, happiness and a sense of calm.’

Daire Lynch is based in Ireland. Those who already follow this artist will know that it is easy to be drawn to his amusing and personable posts on Instagram, (think naked as a bear in the woods, or carrying his pet log), and to be captivated by his talent.


Daire describes himself as self-taught, and has developed his technique to include use of heavy chiaroscuro. His sometimes brooding works are always rich with subtle meaning, and explore the essence of what it is to be human, with all the emotions which make us unique yet connect us universally.


Where is your current studio? What would be your dream studio?

My current studio is attached to my home, but as I have to move out in May, I will be in limbo for a time. I also had a studio in Galway city, Gallery 126, which I used to do life drawing each week but had to give that up for the time being due to the moving. My dream studio would be a home build, whereby I have a workshop for woodwork and such, my painting /drawing studio and a room off it for music.


Do you prefer to work in silence or does certain music inspire you?

Digressions

I listen to music every waking moment. When working, it really is what fits the mood for me, can be jazz, soundtracks, ambient, electronic, rock, right up to death metal. I find music such as Sunn O))), Lustmord, Kaada, Soundscapes are great to paint to, I can get enveloped in the sounds, removing me from the real world.


Studio life can lead to isolation, how do you address this/ keep a balance?

I revel in the solitude, when not in the studio, I'm just as happy out on my kayak in the middle of the lough or cycling in the

woods.


Can you describe a moment you had an epiphany concerning your creative life.

Layers. When you did a painting as a younger artist, you would paint one pass, and think

The Optimist

done. If you go back and repaint over it, refining but not over working it , then again, again, getting smaller and finer details and brush marks, it can bring added life and depth to your work.


What is your favourite/ least favourite part of the creative process?

I do love the final couple of weeks of a painting, each session adding the simple things that bring it to life. Least favourite is probably the block in week where you fear you may have forgotten how to paint as it looks nothing like you had envisioned it.



Do you have a personal mantra or quote which serves to motivate you?

This may sound morbid but 'You're going to die someday. Might as well do your best while you're around'. I find it counters any mood of slacking. The Clock is ticking for us all, get after it, achieve goals that you want to while you can.


How has your style evolved and what contributed to the changes?

My painting has gotten cleaner, by this I mean more professional colours. Use the best paints you can afford, if like me you paint at night, use a daylight bulb, flood the place with light, for years I painted using the ceiling light which is a warm yellowy white, completely throws off your colours.


Is there something you regard as essential to your preparation or process?

A calm mind. Which I think is one reason I paint at night, no distractions, no phones

ringing, no doorbells (you hope), the interactions of the day are gone, gotten myself to a calm place of mind and dive into the painting until exhaustion forces me to go to bed


Alone Conduit

How does your work respond to social trends?

I will freely admit that social media had an effect on my work, I found myself unwittingly being influenced by all the artists I admire and scroll past on instagram, not all which I feel was a positive, as it removed me from how I was organically creating, my work leaning. I'm trying to return to my own path.


What do you hope to convey through your work?

We are but fleshy landscapes, the curves, the valleys, lumps and bumps of the human form. Every form is perfect as it is.





Follow Daire!

@dairelynch

146 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page