top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureArtistsCan

Kristof De Saeger

‘Artists can talk without using a spoken language.'

Kristof De Saeger is an artist from Belgium, who is best known for intricately drawn and sensitively rendered depictions of the human form, finding beauty in the details.


Where is your current studio? What would be your dream studio?

At this time, I work in my living room. As I have a full time day job, there is only time to work on my art at night. This means I have to setup my drawing space every time, and even more important, clean-up after every session. I am dreaming of transforming my old attic into a dream studio... one day...

Do you prefer to work in silence or does certain music inspire you?

I always work with my headphones on, and listening to music. It is mandatory for me to leave my busy living room, with noises of television, kids, etc :-) Music is an important thing for me. I usually listen to a mix of various types. I can go from 80-ties, classical, metal.

'Shadowman'

What is your favourite/ least favourite part of the creative process?

The concept phase is my favourite part. And I can take weeks/months before I finalize a concept, and start working on it. When an idea is final, I start collecting and constructing a digital reference. When I am happy with that, the real work starts, and that is the drawing phase. I don't have a least favourite. I enjoy every part of the creative process. Perhaps what I don't like is the fact that I have little time at the moment to focus on art.


'Last Breath'

How has your style evolved and what contributed to the changes?

My style has not really evolved. Being a realistic artist is something I have been since I was a little kid. Always fascinated by artist who created in a realistic manner. Although my top artists are surrealistic artists, I still need that touch of realism.




Describe an obstacle you have faced and how did you overcome it.

I am facing a major obstacle at the moment. The last two years, it has been very difficult to create art. My perfectionism behavior has lead to a block in drawing. I am working on it by drawing smaller scenes, and therefore rebuild my trust and believe in myself. Step by step.

'Shellshock'

Detail a moment which was the highlight for you, thus far.

A highlight for me, must be getting to know the Ibex collectors. The group that was launched introduced me to a lot of professional artists. It has been a pleasure to consult and learn from the collective. Before this, I was creating and enjoying my art in a more isolated manner.

How does your work respond to social trends?

It does not. I create what I want to create, not what is popular. I am not interested in current movements, or trends, as our lives are already soaked with unnecessary information. I enjoy thinking about themes which are important to me, and transfer them into drawings. What do you hope to convey through your work? Inner peace.


Follow Kristof!


37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page