top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureArtistsCan

Lisa Rickard

'Artists can be positive catalysts for enhancing the well-being of the world.'

Lisa Rickard is a classically trained realist figurative artist, based in the USA. Her muses are carefully choreographed to represent universal themes of shared humanity.


Do you prefer to work in silence or does certain music inspire you?

I prefer to work in silence but sometimes I have a fan turned on to create white noise in my studio or choose one song to repeat on my iPhone. How has your style evolved and what contributed to the changes? 

My style has evolved from simple line illustrations to realistic representations of the human form as I continue to learn how to sculpt 3-dimensional form on a 2-dimensional surface with oil paint. I contribute the change in my style to studying with master artists: Philippe Faraut’s Sculpting the Portrait in Clay seminar, Tony Ryder’s Life Drawing workshop, Scott Waddell’s Cast Painting online mentoring program and attending MIFA (Art Renewal Center approved) which was formerly the Chiaroscuro Studio of Art in Miami, Florida. Ultimately, studying with Douglas Flynt solidified my creative life as my technique and style evolved exponentially with his guidance.

'Callisto'

Describe an obstacle you have faced and how did you overcome it.

My artwork has been removed after posting on social media (Facebook and Instagram) despite the fact that the community guidelines support paintings of nudes. I have posted photos of my work with educational text explaining that uncensored artistic nudes have been the classical way of depicting our human form since ancient times when Greek artists excelled in painting, sculpture and architecture. But, unfortunately, censorship of art has become so prevalent today that while I censor my own work (covering nipples) to continue to have a presence on social media, the negative impact of censorship has compelled me to align myself with organizations that are taking action as part of an international campaign to have social media platforms adopt a set of principles that would allow art to circulate freely in the online environment. The website, https://dontdelete.art, showcases art that has been censored by social media. My oil painting, Capella, and drawing, Callisto, are in their revolving online gallery that exhibits art that has been removed or restricted by social media.  Detail a moment which was the highlight for you, thus far.

A beautiful moment happened at the TRAX Visual Art Center in Lake City, South Carolina (USA) in 2019. My husband and a gallery patron who he did not know were standing and talking while viewing my painting, Capella. When I approached them, she gave me a huge affectionate hug as he introduced us to each other. Her heartfelt emotion in response to my painting has been a wonderful highlight, thus far. Did you always know you were an artist?

As a child and young adolescent, I immersed myself in dance (performing arts) and drawing/painting dancers. As an adult, I made a living as a graphic designer/illustrator for various industry clients while dancing as a ZUMBA® fitness instructor. I continued to draw from the live nude model regularly after receiving my Bachelor of Fine Art Degree in 1998. Ultimately, as a young adult, I had the most incredible creative experience of my life, home-birthing two sons and becoming a mother. Presently, I am devoted to painting allegorical nudes full-time.

'Capella'

If you could time travel, what advice would you give the younger you, regarding pursuing your art-making?

I would tell my younger self that when I begin my largest figure painting in August of 2020, remember not to be my own worst critic because when that rears its ugly head a constant battle with self-doubt ensues.

How do you deal with creative blocks?

During creative blocks, I immerse myself in the art of past and present masters whose figure drawings, paintings, photographs, and/or sculptures I adore: Bouguereau, Godward, Mucha, Lefebvre, Prud’hon, Patrick Nagel, Michael Parkes, Malvina Hoffman, Frederick Hart, Philippe Faraut, Sally Mann, Roberto Ferri and Arantzazu Martinez. What do you hope to convey through your work?

I paint allegorical nudes evoking dignity yet vulnerably with the hope that they will convey universal truths about being human.


Follow Lisa!

99 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page