top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureArtistsCan

Matthew Cook

Updated: Jun 25, 2020

'Artists can do anything. We solve problems all day long, we learn new skills all the time and are constantly adapting. I don’t think there’s a whole lot an artist can’t do when they put their mind to it.'

Matthew Cook is an artist working from Toledo, Ohio. He predominantly chooses the human figure as his subject for his beautifully rendered paintings and drawings, with a vanitas or beetle appearing from time to time.


Where is your current studio?

What would be your dream studio? My studio is in a spare bedroom in my house. I have plans to move it to our basement in the next year or so after some renovation. I’m not picky about where I work, but I need it close by. My dream studio would just have more space and storage. 

Do you prefer to work in silence or does certain music inspire you? 

I listen to a lot of podcasts, music, and Netflix while I work. It’s just whatever I’m in the mood for. My work can be a grind sometimes, so it’s nice to shut off mentally and get in a zone. 

Studio life can lead to isolation, how do you address this/ keep a balance? 

I don’t mind the isolation. It lets me think more clearly and allows me to focus on what I need to get done. I try to be in nature as much as I can too, but that only gets me out of the studio and allows me to recharge a little.


'The King Beetle'

Do you have a personal mantra or quote which serves to motivate you? 

“Do it the right way.” There’s times when you think “well that’s good enough.” It’s not. Or “no one will notice that but me.” That’s one person too many. Do it the right way. When those thoughts enter our heads it is usually sparked by laziness or fear. That section of the painting might be harder so we try to cut corners. But those are the areas where growth occurs. Overcome and do it the right way. It’s what will separate your work from the people who give in to cutting corners.


'Mockery and Hate'

If you could time travel, what advice would you give the younger you, regarding pursuing your artmaking?

I’d probably tell myself to explore options beyond Universities. Spend the money and go to an atelier, travel and take more workshops, and search out answers to your questions by people who are where you want to be. 

How does your work respond to social trends?

I try not to follow social trends in my work. I want my work to stand out, but occasionally it can’t be helped. Our state is currently still under "shelter at home" orders because of COVID-19 and three of the paintings I’m working on are dealing with isolation, death and the end of the world. The paintings were started before there was even a pandemic. It just worked out that way.


Follow Matthew!

@matthewcookart

111 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page