top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureArtistsCan

Nadine Robbins

'Artists can create shared experiences that enrich our communities and minds.'

Nadine Robbins is a hyper-realist artist working from her studio in Hudson Valley, USA. Her impressive body of work includes strong women and luscious oysters. Nadine embraces the challenge of celebrating stories of honest, powerful and vulnerable individuals. Just as her subjects have shown themselves in open and raw depictions, Nadine herself has taken to various forms of social media with relatable and generous insights into her life as an artist.


©2020 Nadine Robbins

Studio life can lead to isolation, how do you address this/ keep a balance? Great question. I'm not an introvert, and my home is isolated. Therefore it's mentally challenging sometimes and lonely. I make a point to meet up with fellow artists once a week at a local cafe, go to openings in New York City, and get out for walks with friends. Even before the COVID quarantine, I would zoom friends just to say hi. I’m find Zooming with friends is not very satisfying but better than nothing for an extrovert.  What is your favourite/ least favourite part of the creative process? I love the development of ideas that are in line with my intentions. I have a vision board with images that help me chose the right model for the reference photoshoot. I also love the photo sessions and the final layer of paint. My least favorite parts are the first layer of paint and painting hair. I think because I can be impatient.


'State of Mind' ©2020 Nadine Robbins

Describe an obstacle you have faced and how did you overcome it. A little more than a year ago, I was forced to reevaluate my career. I don't talk about it much, but I had a severe eye injury in 2018, and after some recuperation, I tried to paint like I did before, but it was too taxing on my eyes. I was devastated on so many levels. Instead of wallowing in self pitty, I began experimenting with new techniques to discover a way that would make it easier to paint long hours yet remain in my genre of hyperrealism. I ended up painting one of my best works to date, and it renewed my faith that I'd be able to remain a hyperrealist. I have a new body of work using this new technique that I hope to start showing in late 2020.

'The Color Purple' ©2020 Nadine Robbins

Nature versus nurture- do you believe you have inherited abilities from creative parents, do you have creative siblings? Can you identify environmental factors or influences which led to your choices or directions? I was on Tiktok answering some questions when a follower asked how I became an artist. I gladly replied that my mom, a frustrated closet artist, was very supportive. She would frame my paintings and put them all over the house and introduced me to artists like Dali and Renoir. I think the turning point which solidified my love for the arts was when I won the best artist in my elementary school. But the final piece of the puzzle was a Rolling Stone cover of the Blues Brothers done by Annie Liebovitz. Jake and Elwood Blues had their black suits, hats, and glasses on, and only their faces were painted blue. So simple and brilliant. I love the idea that I will one day be able to paint a portrait of her. Detail a moment which was the highlight for you, thus far. In March of 2019, I had my work exhibited at the Meam in Barcelona for International Women's Day and several paintings in a group show at the world-renowned Louis Meisel's gallery in NYC. Two career goals that came to fruition was so exciting in an otherwise difficult year.

'Wellfleet Oyster' ©2020 Nadine Robbins

How does your work respond to social trends? I'm one of the few hyperrealist female painters whose work has a defiant and socio-cultural undertone that celebrates the strength and vulnerability of women.


'Artists can create shared experiences that enrich our communities and minds. The Covid virus has decimated our industry and livelihoods; however, it's an opportunity to rebuild our creative capital in new and exciting ways. I feel a renaissance coming and I can’t wait to see how the art industry steps up to the challenge. I know artists are.'



Follow Nadine!

101 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page