top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureArtistsCan

Paul McKnight

'Artists can challenge our perceptions of beauty, enrich  and redefine our aesthetic sensibilities and inspire and bring joy into the lives of others.'  

Paul McKnight is an Australian artist. His studio in Grenfell gives me studio envy, as does his mastery of painting. Paul is unwaveringly dedicated to painting teacups in elaborately decorative still life compositions, in which many viewers can find a sense of connection, drawing upon nostalgia and shared experience. The baked goods evoke memories of quintessential Australian childhood biscuits, I love an 'Iced VOVO’, or two! 


Where is your studio/what would be your dream studio? Grenfell NSW. My studio is my dream studio, an 1888 Hall/Cinema converted into a gallery and living space. I often work in this space to do the preliminaries for a painting, finishing touches and varnishing. In 2003 I bought the house next door to use as my serious painting studio. 3 rooms are devoted to studio use where I can make a mess and not have to worry about it. Here I have easels, a painting desk with a magnifying lamp set up for fine detailed work, an old shearers table with my paints and brushes set out, my music system, a comfy daggy chair to sit in and assess  progress and storage for art related items Do you prefer silence or to work to music? I always work with music in the background, it takes my mind off the slow and laborious process of my painting. My tastes are very eclectic ranging from classical and ethnic to contemporary.


'Violets and Hydrangeas'

Studio life can lead to isolation, how do you address this/ keep a balance? I have always been a recluse and introverted, studio isolation is a joy to me. I get so immersed in my painting that the day has gone and I realise at times I have not stopped to eat. I do not handle intrusions whilst painting very well, a simple phone call can upset my concentration so I do not have it in my studio with me anymore.

Do you have a personal mantra or quote which serves to motivate you? My mantra is certainly not "less is more", it is "more is never enough". I love excess in most forms and painting pattern on pattern,any excuse to add more detail to the work excites me. How has your style evolved and what has contributed to the changes? I have painted nothing but tea cup settings over the past 14 years. At first my style was quite painterly and it has gradually progressed to a more photorealistic style. I wanted to push the realism of my subject matter to the best of my abilities. My latest works have reverted back to a more painterly style despite the overriding realism as that is what I enjoy most. Over time my work has become more complex and challenging with the introduction of highly patterned tablecoths into the setting and more difficult perspective angles.

'Nougat'

Detail a moment which was a highlight for you, thus far. 2017 was a seminal year for me as a serious artist. I entered my first major Art Prize, the Calleen Art Award. Winning the Peoples choice in that award was a huge boost to my confidence and a validation that  I was doing something right.I am my own worst critic, often doubting the direction I intend to pursue. This win gave me the confidence to follow my gut instincts, to do things my way instead of following a 'direction' that other people suggested my art could take. Since then I have been a finalist in prestigious art prizes, have won some and my sales have accelerated. Does social media influence your work? In a way my work is a reaction against  the intrusion of social media, technology and advertising into our public and private lives. I do not follow current trends, I usually dismiss peoples comments or suggestions on what I could or should do with my  chosen theme, I paint what I want to and in a style that I hope is uniquely mine. My work is an homage to my Grandmother. I began painting teacups after being given a number of tea cup settings from her.


'All Terry's Favourites'

Her morning and afternoon teas were quite a memorable feature of my visits with her. Memories of lavish family country morning and afternoon teas where time was taken to enjoy the simple things in life made them feel special. Today in our fast paced world it is often these simple pleasures in life that are neglected, we need to take time to stop, luxuriate and immerse ourselves in something that we enjoy.

What do you hope to convey through your work? I attempt  to create in my work a sense of blissful ignorance and escapism. My aim is to instill everyday objects that inspire me with a sense of beauty and opulence, to elevate them beyond the utilitarian and the mundane. I try to infuse a sense of joy and nostalgia into my work where one seeks solace and solitude in a moment in time. The enjoyment others get from my work is the most satisfying reward at the end of the day.


Follow Paul!

@paulmcknightartist


231 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page